Use of Force Data

Why SPD Provides Use of Force Data

As part of the Police Foundation's Public Safety Open Data Portal we are publishing this information to highlight transparency around our policy, process, and training with regards to use of force and how it is investigated.  Working to maintain public trust is one of our core principles. It is within this spirit that we are sharing use of force data, including officer involved shootings (OIS). Our officers answer hundreds of thousands of calls annually; a vast majority are calls for service, with very few resulting in any use of force (0.3%). Under policies and procedures developed in collaboration with the Department of Justice and implemented in January 2014, all use of force incidents are thoroughly investigated. 

The Department provides this data with the hope of providing greater transparency of our practices in turn creating more opportunities for us to work collaboratively with the community to drive Department policies and priorities. SPD has taken great care to ensure that the need for transparency is appropriately balanced with the need to ensure that the data release does not interfere with the privacy interests of the individuals involved.  Consistent with the City's Open Data and Privacy Policies, all datasets posted to the City's Open Data Portal are subject to a thorough three-part privacy review

More About Use of Force

For more information on our use of force policy and investigations visit:

The Department welcomes feedback as to how this data may be supplemented or enhanced as new data collection systems come online. 


Sue Rahr, Interim Chief of Police
Address: 610 5th Avenue, Seattle, WA, 98104-1900
Mailing Address: PO Box 34986, Seattle, WA, 98124-4986
Phone: (206) 625-5011
Contact Us

Newsletter Updates


Sign up for the latest updates from Police

The Seattle Police Department (SPD) prevents crime, enforces laws, and supports quality public safety by delivering respectful, professional, and dependable police services. SPD operates within a framework that divides the city into five geographical areas called "precincts".