Skip to main content

Firehouse Mini Park

4 a.m. – 11:30 p.m.
General Contact Information

Amenities

Play Area Drinking fountains

Images

About

This double-decker tree house with fire pole is the favorite in this tiny park, but there are other things packed in here too: a boxed-in play area, drinking fountain, benches, and a whirl. This park's small trees also make it a good cooling off place for pedestrians overheated by walking among large buildings.

Firehouse was No. 23, built c.1910, last equipment run in 1964, due to the construction of a larger facility on a site better located to serve the expanded service area. The station housed horse-drawn and then motorized equipment.

Seattle's Fire Dept. was born in the ashes of the Great Fire of 1889, a hopeless battle by the valiant and courageous Volunteers using primitive equipment and water supplies. They had only two tiny steam pumpers, hand-drawn hose carts, hand-carried ladders, buckets and axes to fight a fire in a "tinder town" of wooden buildings and streets with water from a system of hollowed fir logs plus springs. The Volunteers became the fire's scapegoats and disbanded in disgust. The Department used horse-drawn equipment until the 1920's.

Parks and Recreation

AP Diaz, Interim Superintendent
Mailing Address: 100 Dexter Ave N, Seattle, WA, 98109
Phone: (206) 684-4075
Fax: (206) 615-1813
pks_info@seattle.gov

Newsletter Updates

Subscribe

Sign up for the latest updates from Parks and Recreation

Healthy People, Thriving Environment, Vibrant Community